The Autistic, The Lesbian and The Housewarming Gathering

As almost all Saturdays I went to my second hand store. I bought Blur “Think Tank”, Paul Oakenfold “Greatest Hits & Remixes”, 1 cd and 1 dvd, The X Files OST and Mission Impossible OST, then I went to Gatineau and I found Soulfly “Primitive”. I was very sleepy but I pushed myself to go out. I drove peacefully…I jumped into my laptop and remembering the movie The Badder Meinhof Complex, I read in Wikipedia that the group Chumbawamba wrote a song about a famous member of the RFA. I checked the tunes in Grooveshark and I discovered they wrote a song about homophobia…I liked the lyrics…

Up behind the bus stop in the toilets off the street
There are traces of a killing on the floor beneath your feet
Mixed in with the piss and beer are bloodstains on the floor
From the boy who got his head kicked in a night or two before.
Homophobia,the worst disease
You can’t love who you want to love in times like these
In the pubs, clubs and burger bars, breeding pens for pigs,
Alcohol, testosterone and ignorance and fists
Packs of hunting animals roam across the town
They find an easy victim and they punch him to the ground.
Homophobia-the worst disease
You can’t love who you want to love in times like these
Homophobia-the worst disease
You can’t love who you want to love in times like these
The siren of the ambulance, the deadpan of the cops,
Chalk to mark the outline where the boy dropped
Beware the holy trinity: church and state and law
For every death the virus gets more deadly than before.”

I read Boing Boing blog about Temple Grandin http://boingboing.net/2012/10/20/temple-grandins-brain-doesn.html, I checked on YouTube about a documentary about her. She is autistic but despite that she was able to have a master degree in animal behavior. Interesting her way of thinking and how she made a revolution in the meat industry ..on the slaughters…well, I’m almost vegetarian so good for the meat lovers. The most interesting thing about the documentary was the part the interviewers asks her what kind of magazines she likes to read…Grandin says “science” “not women magazines?” the interviewer replies…Grandin says “relationships are too boring”. Her taste for films the same, she repeated again “movies about relationships are too boring”. For an autistic person, have an interaction with the world is too difficult, social skills are almost zero…it remains me  a person….me, but I’m not autistic…or at least nobody told me that, so far.

Yesterday after my evaluation of my boff day, I got an invitation for a housewarming gathering. Somebody I know at church from Ontario bought a house in the Quebec side. Yes, while I left the QC republic she deserted from Ottawa. Now she leaves in the old town of Aylmer, famous as the Franco Desperate Housewifes suburb. Well, the old town is more like a big avenue of around 7 blocks with shops and boutiques, the rest of the area is shopping centers, and finally houses.

She bought a house of 140 years, in good shape, the last owner made renovations, lots of wood for my test, but my friend loves it. For me is nice, but to big for 1 person. I told her when I arrived, I was the first one, that she needed a cat. She’s still single reaching the 40’s. She told me months ago she was dating a guy older than him but at the end it didn’t work out. Now, her new house a nephew keep her busy. Despite the massive lay offs, she was one of the survivors, that was a relief, otherwise, to buy a house it wouldn’t have been impossible. Her place was prepared for the visitors. She gave a personal tour, she showed me the pool, the bathrooms, dinning room, the kitchen etc etc etc. Nice indeed but again to big for one person. There was a little table with 4 kinds of cheese, I tried some but it weren’t the best, am I losing my cheese tasting? or is the new diet? Anyways, I just ate almonds and olive bread…so good and so difficult to cut a slice. I know my friend learnt the fancy French art of living, spending lots of money in goodies, cheese, wine, San Pellegrino water, 3 types of milk ( I swear , I opened the fridge!), even fancy chips, 5 types of beers most brought by the guests, baguette pain etc etc etc…it seemed for food for an art exhibition opening…gay people? Just one, a man who looked like a fashion gangster wearing a black hat and me….invisible as usual. The second guests were a couple with a 2 months-old baby, they got a farm…a farm? an organic one…well…who wants to have a farm when just Summer is like a couple of months and weather is so difficult to deal with? Them, not me. Whatever, the woman seemed nice, I just wished good luck, the guy seemed new doing the farm administration, telling to the 3 guests how he couldn’t collect his tomatoes…anyway…no comments. The third guy was nice, in fact, he works at the same place like me but in another tower (we got like 7 towers). He told me he was from Vancouver but speaks fluently French, separated. While he was telling me his story suddenly I remember that my friend talked to me about the guy she was dating, a guy from the West…older than her…OMG, yes, I was talking without noticing imminently to her ex!!! Ufff, happily I didn’t mentioned anything about my friend’s loving life. One hour later the place was full of people who rarely introduced themselves, some couples telling their baby-children stories. I met a crazy woman with her little girl. I just wanted to be social and I asked an innocent question “What do you do for a living?” She told me she worked in communications….and she explained me about the community tv channels, the monopoly of big companies, the rights of citizen, the HD signals, the towers installed in town…Ok, ok, ok, my headache was ready to start without drinking any alcohol. She woman talked and talked about tv and while she was talking I just cut more Camembert cheese (which was tasteless). Bad idea, then another woman who works from the government came and talked about her boring job…well, I’m so glad I didn’t talked about me…because nobody asked me…just my friend’s ex, which was very kind and nice…the rest, dismissed. Well, in fact, everybody knew each other, at least 60% of them. For some it was the first time in that part of Gatineau, remember, Ontarians don’t cross the bridge, which by the way, one lane was closed.

The gathering was starting to dye around 10.30pm, I left after some minutes, I was glad to leave that place. Don’t get me wrong, the house is nice and cozy, the people not that bad, but the idea or drinking and eating with people who don’t dare to talk or are in little groups without including you was too much but I was glad that my effort wasn’t that bad. My social skills…are they improving? Well, I don’t think so, the Ontarians skills remains the same, little group, little people, not daring to talk to another strange at least that person has an interest on you.

I went to bed…my cat was very happy to see me again… I just kissed her…thinking meeting people is not that hard but is hard to break down those cultural walls, the Ontarians are the pro in building those, they meet you with an inch ruler and sanitizer.

Leave a Reply

